“Braunschweig Women’s Open” – top-class tennis in the region

The annual women’s tennis tournament “Braunschweig Women’s Open” is one of the most important steps for industrious young players and enjoys a very unique reputation in northern Germany. Even the qualifying rounds are a garanty for witnessing highest tennis quality.

This world ranking tournament, which is endowed with $25.000, was founded as a part of the German Masters Series presented by TRETORN in 2009. Since then it is constantly growing.

The basic idea emerged because of the Förderverein Tennis Braunschweig e.V. in 2008 and was actively supported by the NTV. It was planned to develope the tennis site Brunswick even further with the help of another higher ranking tournament – the “Braunschweig Women’s Open”. Such a tournament made it possible to offer a platform to numerous ambitious players throughout Northern Germany where they could compare themselves to national and international standards.

The NTV did not only plan to strengthen the German tournament landscape in the North. They also wanted to support especially young players transitioning from Youth Tennis to the professional area. Therefore, they needed high ranking tournaments nearby – concerning this demand the “Braunschweig Women’s Open” were initiated.

Freddy Pedersen und Volker Jäcke

© Agentur Ammerpohl: Freddy Pedersen and Volker Jäcke (l.t.r.) of the Förder­verein.

Tournament Information 2021

Tournament Information

Previous Winners

Nastasja Schunk 🇩🇪 (2021)

Çağla Büyükakçay 🇹🇷 (2019)

Anastasia Zarycká 🇨🇿 (2018)

Magdalena Fręch 🇵🇱 (2017)

Nina Stojanovic

Nina Stojanović 🇷🇸 (2016)

Jil Belen Teichmann

Jil Teichmann 🇨🇭 (2015)

Antonia Lottner

Antonia Lottner 🇩🇪 (2014)

Kritina Barrois

Kristina Barrois 🇩🇪 (2013)

Katharina Lehnert

Katharina Lehnert 🇵🇭 (2012)

Dinah Pfizenmaier

Dinah Pfizenmaier 🇩🇪 (2011)

Scarlett Werner

Scarlett Werner 🇩🇪 (2010)

Korina Perkovic 🇩🇪 (2009)